Gardening Session – Herbs

Herbs

Herbs are so simple to grow, even in a pot inside, or outside. Your own fresh
herbs will take your cooking to a whole other level.

Right now I am growing parsley, mint, basil, stevia, savory, thyme, and oregano  in pots on my deck. I bought pots at the dollarstore, my dirt is OMRI certified, I simply asked for organic dirt at my local garden shop, where I also picked up the plant starts. I also always use a product called Gia Green Glacier Rock Dust, it contains all the trace elements, which are missing from many soils today, and we want to eat those!

Super simple mix the dirt with the rock dust and plant your plant, making sure to cover all the roots, but don’t plant it too deep so the plant is being covered by alot of dirt, or it will die. I like to plant my herbs one to a pot to let them get as large as possible so I can have as many as possible!

Herbs are pretty hardy, and will thrive with a little love.

Harvest the outside leaves or stems, don’t harvest the whole plant, leave enough of the plant intact to let the herb grow back again.

Keep it simple this summer by growing your own herbs, just think of the money you will save I am always shocked at the prices of fresh herbs, here it is $2.99 for a few sprigs, just enough for one recipe. Everytime you use some herbs you will be saving $2.99!!

There are so many simple ways you can use your new herb harvests, soaking in vinegar to make a vinaigrette, dried to use all winter long, as a herb pesto, to marinade meat, in homemade beauty products, the list is truly endless.

So keep it simple and fresh this summer, and plant some herbs!

20140529-122016-44416914.jpg

Leave a comment